Wednesday, June 6, 2012

MANILA — Senators on Tuesday approved on second reading a bill which seeks to carve out a new legislative district in North Cotabato.

The measure now has to go through third reading before it will be sent to the bicameral conference committee, the plenary of both houses of Congress and the President for it to become a law.

Under the House Bill 4111, the first legislative district shall be composed of the municipalities of Pikit, Pigkawayan, Alamada, Libungan, Midsayap, and Aleosan. The second legislative district will be comprised of Kidapawan City and the towns of Makilala, Magpet, Roxas, Antipas, and Arakan.

The towns of Banilisan, Carmen, Kabacan, Matalam, Mlang, and Tulunan shall constitute the proposed third legislative district.

Senator Panfilo Lacson, who filed the counterpart Senate Bill 2945, said the creation of an additional district is “in the interest of proper democratic and proportional representation.”

The proposed reapportionment has complied with the requirements laid down in the 1987 Constitution, which states that each legislative district—with a minimum population of 250,000–shall comprise contiguous, compact, and adjacent territory.

North Cotabato’s population stood at 1,121,974 in 2010. (Virgil Lopez/Sunnex)